This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

For serious inquiries regarding purchasing or exhibiting Serj Tankian's original artwork, contact his representative here - Send Mail
Serj's journey into the world of fine art began with his Disarming Time Musical Paintings in 2013. 
He creates a uniquely audible and visual experience with each of his artworks. Each piece is accompanied by a musical score that has been composed by Serj that is as integral to his artistic expression as the paint on the canvas.
In his own words, he claims, "The urge came to me in the discovery that music has become so temporal and devalued in the world today, so I wanted to create an exclusive experience...something unique for someone to hold so they become the only person to experience this. I'm aiming to have people SEE the music and HEAR the art. Using a modern app, we're able to take Kandinsky's Synesthesia to a whole new level."

The embedded music is currently unlocked and accessed via Arloopa, a free mobile application for iOS and Android devices that utilizes optical recognition technology to identify his works and allow those looking at his artwork to listen to each painting's corresponding musical score. Tankian's vision to utilize smartphone technology back in 2013 with his very own Eye For Sound app as the conduit to unlock the intertwined relationship of music and art was the first of its kind.

That was the same year his journey into the world of fine art began with his Disarming Time Musical Paintings. Since then, he has had multiple exhibitions at galleries in both the United States and New Zealand, including the grand opening of New Museum Los Gatos in Northern California, in an exhibit that ran through September of 2015. Tankian's first exhibit in New Zealand came during the Auckland White Nights Art Festival in March of 2015 with a group exhibit of Eye For Sound artists held at Wynyard Quarter Silo 6.

To date, he has created over 50 pieces of art, with most of them being paintings, while a few are sculptural works.

2019 has so far seen Tankian exhibiting works at 2 notable galleries in New Zealand, with shows held at The Vivian and Boyd-Dunlop Gallery that ran from February through March.

Artwork News Archive

 Aug. 17, 2015 - Serj Creates Limited Archival Reproductions Of His Artwork

 Aug. 7, 2015 - Serj Tankian and CANTSTOPGOODBOY Announce "Marbelized Words" Art Exhibit

 May 27, 2015 - Eye For Sound Group Exhibit at New Museum Los Gatos

 Mar. 22, 2015 - Rocker Serj Tankian From System of a Down Calls NZ Home, Discusses Art Exhibit In Auckland

 Mar. 6, 2015 - Tankian Brings Eye For Sound, Group Exhibit To Auckland

 Mar. 5, 2015 - 3 News In New Zealand Interviews Serj About The Eye For Sound Exhibit In Auckland

 Dec. 6, 2013 - Upgrading The Dynamic of Art and Audience

 Nov. 27, 2013 - Nylon Guys Interviews Serj About His 'Disarming Time' Paintings

 Nov. 18, 2013 - Eye For Sound App Available For iOS and Android

 Nov. 18, 2013 - Eye For Sound App Tutorial

 Oct. 24, 2013 - Eye For Sound Presents: Disarming Time Musical Paintings By Serj Tankian

 May 31, 2013 - Serj Tankian Brings Music + Art Together For Disarming Time Paintings

 May 29, 2013 - Serj Tankian Launches 'Really Exciting' New Project: 'Disarming Time Musical Paintings'


Violent Violins HPM - $500

Grieving Banner Lithograph - $99.99

Disarming Time Giclée - $1200

Space Clock Canvas Reproduction - $450

Clock Crucifixion Hand Painted Artist Proof - $600

Clock Crucifixion Hand Painted Multiple - $500

Violent Violins Lithograph - $120